Catfish casserole

For a person who used to disagree with her mom all the time, I sure cook a lot of her recipes.

This is an oldie that I used to refuse to eat until I cooked it myself (i.e.: made my own twist). I am a very finicky tomato sauce maker. I have to have the right ratio of onions to garlic, the garlic HAS to be freshly chopped (none of that powder stuff for my tomato sauce!) and a little more freshly ground black pepper than most people use. And a bit of red wine wouldn’t hurt it either!

I am especially proud of myself for managing to take all these pics while cooking and cooking while starving. Nothing makes a girl hungry like an hour long Developers’ meeting 😛

So, Here goes. (forgive the shaky pictures. I was THAT hungry)

Ingredients:
1 diced onion
1 diced thin garlic clove
1 tbsp olive oil
1 can tomato sauce
salt, pepper. Spices you like in a tomato sauce
2 fillets of catfish
1-1/2 cup of small grain wheat

Saute the oil, onions, and garlic in a sauce pan for a few minutes till they get tender. Dump on the tomato sauce. once it starts to boil, lower it to a simmer. Add salt, pepper and spices to taste (adding a splash of red wine won’t hurt) and let all simmer for a few minutes.

While the sauce cooks, wash the wheat grains thoroughly and spread in an oven-safe dish. lay the catfish fillets on top and sprinkle them with salt and pepper. Once the sauce is cooked, pour that over the fish and wheat. Cover the whole thing with foil and put into a preheated oven at 350 degree.

It should not cook for long. In about 20 minutes, you end up with beautiful cooked grains and nice flaky fish 🙂

Whoever said you have to have white wine with fish is mean and controlling. I used in the sauce a Beujoulais wine which is a french burgundy wine. It’s a little tart but not overly dry at all. Thanks to my dear brother for introducing me to it.

5 thoughts on “Catfish casserole

  1. I just made this last week, from your mom’s recipe too. My family loved it! 🙂 even my cousin who hates fish liked it!

  2. I heard mom was very proud that you made it too 🙂

    The hubby likes it too and he is no seafood fan 😛

    Oooooh but we have GOT to get some good sushi when you are here. 😉

Leave a Reply

